By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience.


Propertmark unveils new chairman and board members

Propertymark has named its new chairperson and board members during its annual general meeting.

Succeeding Propertymark’s, Nicky Heathcote, Bill Butler has been announced to take on the role of chair.

Butler has held a number of non-executive roles and is currently a board member at The Law Society and at Coventry and Warwickshire Integrated Care Board.


He was previously chief executive of the UK private security regulator the Security Industry Authority, and held senior roles at the Gambling, Healthcare, and Audit Commissions. He has been an accountant since 1982 and was admitted as a Chartered Security Professional in 2014.

He said: “It is a privilege to chair this pivotal industry body, especially at such a crucial time for the housing market. 

“I look forward to working with members, the board and the entire team as we look to further develop Propertymark and its offerings for members.”

Alongside the announcement of the new chair, elections were held for the Propertymark board. 

Stephen McCarron was elected as non-executive member elected board director to represent NAEA Propertymark members and Allison Thompson will represent ARLA Propertymark members.

New ARLA Propertymark president Greg Tsuman and new NAEA Propertymark president Michael Holden have taken office to speak on behalf of members as Propertymark’s lead ambassadors.

Tsuman said, “With so much happening within the letting sector, I’m so excited to be stepping into the role as President for ARLA Propertymark to help influence and make real change – I can’t wait to get stuck in.”

Holden added: “I’m really honoured to be joining the NAEA Propertymark team as president and I hope that my knowledge of the commercial and real estate professional sectors will provide a more joined-up approach to working practices across the sales sector.”

Megan Eighteen was announced as elected vice president for ARLA Propertymark and Mary Louise-Press was elected for NAEA Propertymark.

Nathan Emerson, chief executive of Propertymark, said: “Over the three years, Nicky’s experience has proven to be invaluable to Propertymark and we can’t thank her enough for the dedication and knowledge she has provided us with. We wish her all the best in the future.

“We now welcome Bill, Greg, Michael, Megan, Mary, Stephen and Allison to the Propertymark team at what is a crucial time for the industry. 

“With a cost of living crisis affecting many homeowners and renters across the country, alongside the Renters’ Reform Bill which is the biggest legislation to be introduced to the lettings sector in decades, it is a pivotal and important time for the industry. We look forward to working with them all moving forward.”

  • icon

    So a "trade body" for the property industry has selected a Chairman with no property experience but of course a lot of experience as a regulator.
    Last time they selected a Non Exec director of Ofqual...
    Tells you everything you need to know about priorities at PM.


Please login to comment

MovePal MovePal MovePal
sign up