Rightmove issues emergency alert on agent phishing scam |
Friday 4th November 2011
Rightmove has put out an urgent alert to all their agents after a phishing email scam purporting to be from the site.
A number of agents were yesterday fooled into parting with their confidential log-in details.
The scammer has copied the design of Rightmove’s email leads and is sending these to agents asking for their RightmovePlus log-in information, in order for them to get the information.
Rightmove is warning agents that while the emails are designed to appear like a typical Rightmove email lead, there are a number of differences.
• The email field doesn’t have an email address, instead it says ‘Click here to Reply’ which doesn’t link to Rightmove. The emails appear to be diverting to a home-furnishings website named www.212home.com
• There is no property image showing
• The subject doesn’t contain any location information e.g. ‘Rightmove Lead: ....... (John Culligan)’
• In the text at the bottom it will give you a number and date (e.g. This is email no.189 sent to you by rightmove.co.uk since 1st January 2011). This number is unlikely to match up to the number on the last official email you received from Rightmove
Agents are being warned not to click on any links or reply to the email, open any attachments or supply any log-in details.
Those who have done so are being told to change their RightmovePlus passwords as a matter of urgency, and to notify police if they believe there have been any ‘malicious transgressions’ against their RightmovePlus account.
Rightmove says it is working with the relevant authorities on this issue and will be assisting any agents in reverting changes that have been made to their Rightmove accounts.
Anyone affected or potentially affected by this should call Rightmove’s customer team as soon as possible on 01908 308500.
| Tweet |
Click here to comment on this story |
(10) Comments | Report Abuse
| | Or did you not realise that my comment was also tongue in cheek, as a response to tongue in cheek comments to a tongue in cheek comment? Either way, it’s all been said tongue in cheek and it looks like I fell for the comments hook, line and sinker. Oh well. |
| | It certainly is only you that didn't notice the replies were, too. |
| | Is it only me that saw Anne's comment as being firmly tongue in cheek?1 |
| |
Yes Anne, they offered me some very cheap Viagra too.
A con for sure. |
| |
Anne,
I agree with Charlotte. This sounds like a con to me. If you are in doubt, refer it to your bank. If you are still confused and concerned, they will be able to help you out. Be careful, Anne! |
| | Anne. Your Bank will never, ever ask you for this information either by e-mail or telephone. It is most definitely a scam. I suggest you forward the e-mail to Lloyds bank so that they can investigate it and then delete it - do not click on reply or any other links within the message. |
| | I had Lloyds bank with a Nigerian email address asking me to confirm my bank details and passwords, is that a con? |
| |
Anybody had any of these enquiries via rightmove....?
"I can't ring 0843 from my mobile, can someone please call me back?". The number left is an 07005 number that at first glance appears to be an ordinary mobile number. Some more information on 07005 numbers here... http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=2926070 |
| | It will be interesting to see if Rightmove's customer service team are able to deal with this properly. My experience of them in the past has been poor and they seem more interested in getting the telephone call finished as soon as possible rather than solving the situation. |
| Tweet |
Editorial Contact Details - Rosalind Renshaw
rosalind.renshaw@estateagenttoday.co.uk
Veteran property website folds after purchase by Zoopla
Rightmove reports strong performance to City
Angry agents 'open can of worms' as they hit out at portals' prices







